Finalists announced in National Photographic Portrait Prize 2023

Comments Comments

The finalists have been announced in the National Photographic Portrait Prize (NPPP) for 2023.

Last year, the $50,000 prize in the prestigious competition was awarded to Wayne Quilliam for his powerful portrait Silent Strength, an image of Aurukun man Eric Yunkaporta in ceremonial head-wear.

Vying for the title this year, and selected from a national field of entries reflecting the 'distinctive vision of Australia's aspiring and professional portrait photographers,' are 46 finalists. They are:

Wayne Quilliam, Silent Strength 2021.
2022 NPPP winner Wayne Quilliam's winning image, Silent Strength 2021. Image courtesy National Portrait Gallery.
Adam Ferguson
Anne Moffat
Bahram Mia
Ben McNamara
Brenda L. Croft
Bruce Agnew
Cassandra Scott-Finn
Charles James Ford
Charlie Bliss
Cindy Kavanagh
David Cossini
David Darcy
Dylan Le'Mon
Elliot Brown
Emma Armstrong-Porter
Forough Yavari
Franca Turrin
Francis Cloake
The Huxleys
Gerwyn Davies
Grace Costa
Isabella Melody Moore
Jacob Nash
Heidi Margocsy
Jacqueline Mitelman
James Bugg
Jay Hynes
Jimmy Widders Hunt
Jo Duck
Julian Kingma
Lily Hatten
Martine Perret
Meng-Yu Yan
Nathan Dyer
Renae Saxby
Renato Colangelo
Rohan Thomson
Sammaneh Pourshafighi
Sarah Depta
Sarah Enticknap
Sean Slattery
Shannon May Powell
Shea Kirk
Stuart Miller
Tajette O'Halloran
Teva Cosic

From these finalists, the winner will take home a $30,000 cash prize from the NPPP along with photographic equipment.

The winner for 2023 will be announced at the exhibition launch on 16 June. You can find out more about the NPPP at

comments powered by Disqus